Who doesn’t love pizza? One of America’s favorite foods, pizza seems to be available almost anywhere you go. Chances are, you can easily track down a pizza delivery chain in any town you visit within the United States. However, many pizza chains deliver sub-par pizza at best: most people are not fond of pizzas with soggy crusts.
Furthermore, the cheese can be greasy and tasteless, stealing some of the joy from your pizza experience. If you follow a halal diet, you may have even more trouble finding pizza that is not considered haram, or forbidden. However, if you live in the Orlando area, you’re in luck; the Kabab House is proud to introduce our halal pizzas to the public!
What Makes a Pizza Halal?
Following the guidelines of Quran, halal pizza cannot contain any pork by-products or animals not slaughtered according to Islamic rules. Sometimes pizza crusts can be made using lard or fat, which could be by-products of pork. The sauce must also not have any animal products made from pork, such as certain types of sausage. Halal pizza sauces cannot contain any pork or pork byproducts or any other ingredients considered haram. The toppings must also not contain any forbidden ingredients, such as pork or animals that are not slaughtered using halal techniques.